DAGA Co-Chairs on President-elect Joe Biden’s Selections to Lead the U.S. Department of Justice

January 7, 2021

WASHINGTON, D.C.— Today, the Democratic Attorneys General Association (DAGA) Co-Chairs Massachusetts AG Maura Healey and Nevada AG Aaron Ford released the following statement regarding President-elect Joe Biden’s leadership selections for the U.S. Department of Justice including selecting Judge Merrick Garland to serve as United States Attorney General, former homeland security adviser Lisa Monaco as deputy attorney general, former Justice Department civil rights chief Vanita Gupta as associate attorney general, and the president of Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law Kristen Clarke as assistant attorney general for civil rights.

Statement from Massachusetts AG Maura Healey and Nevada AG Aaron Ford, Co-Chairs of the Democratic Attorneys General Association

“We welcome the new leadership at the Department of Justice—one rooted in a shared commitment to the rule of law, equality, and justice for all. The past four years have demonstrated the fundamental need for an independent DOJ that is dedicated to the mission of equal enforcement of the law. We look forward to the return of a DOJ that works for the American people.”

“The new leadership at the DOJ will be consequential to restoring faith in government and making progress on voting rights, criminal justice reform, and fighting discrimination in all its forms. We need a DOJ that works to defend our communities from threats—both foreign and domestic. Given the events that unfolded yesterday in the U.S. Capitol, it’s imperative the DOJ use all the tools and resources available to ensure all Americans in every community are safe and secure. This includes investigating and holding responsible parties accountable.”

“We have so much work to do to build a more equitable justice system—and we look forward to rebuilding a justice system the American people can trust protects them with a DOJ that puts people first.”


Our democracy can't wait.

Help support our initiatives to elect more Democratic AGs.

Donate Now