Democratic Attorneys General Association Announces New Leadership for 2020

November 25, 2019

Washington, D.C.— The Democratic Attorneys General Association (DAGA) today announced new leadership for 2020 as the committee prepares to protect Democratic incumbents and flip key seats in next year’s elections. Massachusetts AG Maura Healey will join Oregon AG Ellen Rosenblum as a Co-chair to lead the growing committee and focus on regaining the majority. Current Co-chair District of Columbia AG Karl Racine will remain on DAGA’s Executive Committee as Chair Emeritus while he heads into rotation to be the President of the National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG). Connecticut AG William Tong and Nevada AG Aaron Ford will join the DAGA Executive Committee as New Mexico AG Hector Balderas moves into overseeing DAGA’s independent expenditure program. Additionally, Delaware AG Kathy Jennings will chair DAGA’s Women’s Initiative, formed two years ago to increase the number of Democratic women AGs.

“As the incoming Co-chair of DAGA, I am dedicated to growing this committee, winning tough races, and continuing to lead with values,” said Massachusetts AG Maura Healey. “Democratic Attorneys General continue to demonstrate that we are the most effective elected officials protecting our democracy—and I am honored to take on a leadership role in the fight to elect more strong leaders to this Democratic AG team.”

“Attorney General Maura Healey is truly a leader among our Democratic AGs and in the Democratic Party at large,” said Oregon AG Ellen Rosenblum. “I look forward to working closely with AG Healey as we lead the Democratic Attorneys General Association together. You know what they say—if you want to get something done, ask a woman! And now we have two of us leading this powerhouse committee that will support and elect leaders who will fight for our most vulnerable communities and put people first.”

“As we enter one of the most consequential elections of our lifetime, I am proud and excited to have such powerful, smart leaders in AG Healey and AG Rosenblum steer the ship at the Democratic Attorneys General Association,” said Connecticut AG William Tong. “Voters are consistently turning out to support leaders who will protect health care, fight for fairness, and hold bad actors accountable—and those leaders are Democratic Attorneys General.’

“I look forward to standing with AG Healey, AG Rosenblum, and all my colleagues as we strengthen our Democratic Attorney General team in 2020 and regain the majority of seats nationwide,” Nevada AG Aaron Ford. “We know that when voters know who their AG candidate is, and where they stand on the issues that matter—they pick the Democratic candidate.”

DAGA’s new leadership team will continue the upward trajectory of the committee. In 2016, DAGA moved from a part-time committee based in Colorado to a full-time organization that won two out of three battleground races going head-to-head with the Republican Attorneys General Association. In 2017, DAGA secured the re-election of Virginia AG Mark Herring and launched a Women’s Initiative (“the 1881 Initiative”) to elect more women to the office of state Attorney General with an expressed commitment to equal representation. In 2018, DAGA helped flip four seats blue and elect the most diverse coalition of Democratic Attorneys General in history. Most recently, DAGA earned the attention of top Democrats and reproductive rights leaders for becoming the first Democratic campaign committee to require candidates to publicly commit to protecting reproductive rights in order to receive financial support from the committee.

2020 Democratic Attorney General Association Leadership:

Attorney General Ellen Rosenblum (OR), Co-Chair
Attorney General Maura Healey (MA), Co-Chair
Attorney General Karl Racine (DC), Chair Emeritus
Attorney General Josh Shapiro (PA), Executive Committee
Attorney General Xavier Becerra (CA), Executive Committee
Attorney General Aaron Ford (NV), Executive Committee
Attorney General William Tong (CT), Executive Committee


About the Democratic Attorneys General Association

The Democratic Attorneys General Association (DAGA) is the only committee solely dedicated to electing and supporting Democratic state Attorneys General. Democratic Attorneys General currently hold 27 seats and represent the majority of Americans and the states responsible for the majority of the U.S. GDP. This is the most diverse coalition of Democratic Attorneys General in history. For more information or to get involved, visit Follow us on Facebook, on Twitter, and on Instagram!

Our democracy can't wait.

Help support our initiatives to elect more Democratic AGs.

Donate Now