Democratic Attorneys General Association Announces New Leadership for 2019

December 12, 2018

Washington, D.C.— Coming off historic victories in the Midterm Elections, the Democratic Attorneys General Association (DAGA) announced new leadership for the 2019-2020 cycle. Virginia AG Mark Herring will join Oregon AG Ellen Rosenblum as a Co-Chair to lead the growing committee. Current Co-Chair District of Columbia AG Karl Racine will remain on DAGA’s Executive Committee while he heads into rotation to be the President of the National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG). Additionally, California AG Xavier Becerra will join the DAGA Executive Committee as Kentucky AG Andy Beshear moves off to gear up for his Gubernatorial run.

“In 2017, I saw the DAGA difference in my race—and in 2018, the country at large got to see what this committee can do,” said Virginia AG Mark Herring, Incoming Co-Chair of the Democratic Attorneys General Association. “Now that we are the majority and hold 27 state AG offices across the country, there’s going to be an even larger, more robust committee supporting Democratic AGs as we protect our democracy, and I am honored to play a leadership role in growing this room even bigger in 2019 and beyond.”

“I want to thank Karl Racine for his outstanding leadership. I am proud to continue in my role as Co-Chair of DAGA and look forward to working closely with AG Herring,” said Oregon AG Ellen Rosenblum, Co-Chair of the Democratic Attorneys General Association. “Democratic Attorneys General are serving as the leaders who are looking out for the most vulnerable populations in our states and fighting to protect the rule of law. Together with the rest of our colleagues, we will work together to prevent rollbacks in environmental protections, reproductive rights, immigration policies, and healthcare. I look forward to playing a continued role in this committee’s long-term success.”

“Over the past two and half years, I have watched DAGA grow into a powerhouse committee that supports and elects state Attorneys General that will fight to protect citizens and stand up for the rule of law,” said District of Columbia AG Karl Racine, Outgoing Co-Chair of the Democratic Attorneys General Association. “I am honored to have played a role in our historic wins in 2016, 2017, and 2018, and I am proud of the work DAGA has done to elect a more diverse group of leaders that better reflects the people we serve. With this new leadership, I know DAGA will continue on this upward trajectory.”

Coined as “the down-ballot officials who could freeze the Trump Train in its tracks” by the Washington Post and as “The Most Effective Way for Democrats to Fight Trump’s Agenda” by Mother Jones, state Attorneys General races were front and center for not only party leaders like Barack ObamaJoe Biden, and Kamala Harris but also for voters across the country.

In the 2018 elections, DAGA played a major role in flipping four seats blue, propelling Democrats to hold a majority of AG seats nationwide. DAGA successfully defended all incumbents seeking re-election and held tight in Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Maine, Minnesota, New York, and Rhode Island where newly-elected Democratic AGs held onto blue seats.

The 2018 victories continue to show the growing strength of DAGA. In 2016, the first Election Cycle with the re-engineered committee, DAGA won two out of three targeted races going head-to-head with the Republican Attorneys General Association (RAGA), securing wins in Pennsylvania and North Carolina. In 2017, the first election after Republican AGs voted to drop the incumbency agreement, Democratic AG Mark Herring won a landslide victory in Virginia despite RAGA spending more than $7 million against him. For more on DAGA’s electoral success, check out this By The Numbers memo.

2019-2020 Democratic Attorney General Association Leadership:

Attorney General Ellen Rosenblum (OR), Co-chair

Attorney General Mark Herring (VA), Co-chair

Attorney General Xavier Becerra (CA), Executive Committee

Attorney General Maura Healey (MA), Executive Committee

Attorney General Hector Balderas (NM), Executive Committee

Attorney General Josh Shapiro (PA), Executive Committee

Attorney General Karl Racine, (D.C.), Executive Committee

Our democracy can't wait.

Help support our initiatives to elect more Democratic AGs.

Donate Now