Democratic Attorneys General Association Announces New Leadership for 2021

November 19, 2020

WASHINGTON, D.C.— The Democratic Attorneys General Association (DAGA) today announced new leadership for 2021 as the committee prepares for a Biden-Harris Administration and to win big races in the 2021-2022 cycle. Nevada AG Aaron Ford will join Massachusetts AG Maura Healey as a Co-chair to lead the growing committee and focus on regaining the majority and continuing to elect diverse leaders. Current Co-chair Oregon AG Ellen Rosenblum will remain on DAGA’s Executive Committee as Chair emeritus. Delaware AG Kathy Jennings will join California AG Xavier Becerra, Connecticut AG William Tong, and District of Columbia AG Karl Racine on the DAGA Executive Committee.

“In 2020, we faced a difficult map but protected our incumbents by re-electing Democratic Attorneys General in Pennsylvania and North Carolina. Over the next two years, I am confident that we will grow this committee, win races across the country, and continue to make progress for the people,” said Massachusetts AG Maura Healey, Co-Chair of the Democratic Attorneys General Association.“Democratic Attorneys General have been on the front lines defending the rights of the American people during the Trump presidency and we really showcased how this office can be a powerhouse for defending progress. Dem AGs do not plan on slowing down any time soon.”

“It is an honor to join AG Healey to lead the Democratic Attorneys General Association. Democrats are the party of protecting health care, advancing civil rights, pushing for criminal justice reform, and expanding reproductive rights. We are the party committed to voting rights, ensuring equal access to the ballot box, and combatting efforts to delegitimize our democratic institutions,” said Nevada AG Aaron Ford, incoming Co-Chair of the Democratic Attorneys General Association. “In the years ahead, we will support and elect strong Democratic leaders to Attorneys General offices nationwide who share these values, protect their most vulnerable constituents, and fight for the people. I look forward to working with DAGA to do just that.”

“I am honored to have served as DAGA co-chair for the past six years, and I am delighted to welcome Nevada AG Aaron Ford to join AG Healey as the new co-chair,” said Oregon AG Ellen Rosenblum, Chair emeritus of the Democratic Attorneys General Association. “I am proud of the work this committee has done:  We have broken fundraising records, elected the most diverse coalition of state AGs in history, and ensured competitive races in red and purple states. Moving forward, we will continue to defend and improve upon the Affordable Care Act, address the pandemic with the urgency it demands, and look forward to working in partnership with a federal administration that respects the Rule of Law.”

“Democratic Attorneys General have been the legal muscle successfully battling the Trump administration’s efforts to undermine the rule of law, and we have been leading the states in the fight for health care, the environment, criminal justice reform, and more,” said Delaware AG Kathy Jennings, new member to the Democratic Attorneys General Association Executive Committee. “Joining the DAGA Executive Committee, I look forward to working with my Dem AG colleagues to transform the judicial wall we erected in the states into a force to make progress and protect rights for all in 2020 and beyond.”

In 2016, DAGA moved from a part-time committee based in Colorado to a full-time organization that won two out of three battleground races going head-to-head with the Republican Attorneys General Association. In 2017, DAGA secured the re-election of Virginia AG Mark Herring and launched a Women’s Initiative to elect more women to the office of state Attorney General with an expressed commitment to equal representation. In 2018, DAGA helped flip four seats blue and elect the most diverse coalition of Democratic Attorneys General in history. DAGA also earned the attention of top Democrats and reproductive rights leaders for becoming the first Democratic campaign committee to require candidates to publicly commit to protecting reproductive rights in order to receive financial support from the committee. In 2020, DAGA faced an uphill climb and retained all incumbent seats in the battleground states of North Carolina and Pennsylvania. Democratic Attorneys General represent 25 states and a majority of the U.S. population and the states responsible for a majority of GDP.

2020 Democratic Attorneys General Association Leadership:
Attorney General Maura Healey (MA), Co-Chair
Attorney General Aaron Ford (NV), Co-Chair
Attorney General Ellen Rosenblum (OR), Chair emeritus
Attorney General Xavier Becerra (CA), Executive Committee
Attorney General William Tong (CT), Executive Committee
Attorney General Karl Racine (DC), Executive Committee
Attorney General Kathy Jennings (DE), Executive Committee


Our democracy can't wait.

Help support our initiatives to elect more Democratic AGs.

Donate Now