Statement from the Democratic Attorneys General Association on Iowa GOP Attempt to Strip Iowa OAG Independence

April 22, 2019

Statement from the Democratic Attorneys General Association on Iowa GOP Attempt to Strip Iowa OAG Independence

20 Democratic Attorneys General Urge Iowa Leaders to Reject Last Minute Move to Limit Iowa OAG Independence

Washington, D.C.— In response to the last minute, behind-closed-door moves by the Iowa GOP to strip Attorney General Tom Miller of his authority, the Democratic Attorneys General Association (@DemocraticAGs) released the following statement from DAGA Co-Chairs District of Columbia AG Karl Racine and Oregon AG Ellen Rosenblum. Democratic Attorneys General from 18 states co-signed the statement.


“This eleventh hour, behind-closed-doors move by GOP legislators to strip Attorney General Tom Miller of the ability to protect every day Iowans puts public safety at risk. A majority of Iowa voters have shown election after election that they believe AG Miller is doing a great job as Attorney General. They have elected him for more than three decades because they trust him to do what is right under the law for Iowans.”

“Instead of dealing with unnecessary obstacles that impede his ability to serve the people, AG Miller should be afforded the tools he needs to focus on Iowa’s most pressing issues. That includes decisions about when and where to bring lawsuits affecting Iowans, whether they pertain to education, health care, or other key Iowa priorities.”

“We urge the Iowa State Legislature and Governor Reynolds to reject this dangerous and partisan attack and to protect the independence of the Iowa Office of Attorney General.”

The DAGA Co-Chair statement was co-signed by a coalition of Democratic Attorneys General including:

  • Xavier Becerra (CA)
  • William Tong (CT)
  • Kathy Jennings (DE)
  • Kwame Raoul (IL)
  • Andy Beshear (KY)
  • Maura Healey (MA)
  • Aaron Frey (ME)
  • Brian Frosh (MD)
  • Dana Nessel (MI)
  • Keith Ellison (MN)
  • Hector Balderas (NM)
  • Aaron Ford (NV)
  • Tish James (NY)
  • Josh Shapiro (PA)
  • Peter Neronha (RI)
  • Mark Herring (VA)
  • TJ Donovan (VT)
  • Bob Ferguson (WA)

For more information on the impact this bill will have on Iowa, please check out AG Miller’s powerful op-ed in the Des Moines Register: “Lawmakers should not handcuff attorney general’s office

  • In 2018, the Republican Party could not find anyone willing to run against Attorney General Tom Miller because of his long-standing popularity.
    • AG Miller is the longest-serving State Attorney General in the nation
    • Iowa voters have elected AG Miller 10 times to serve as Attorney General.
    • Despite the Republican trifecta in the state, AG Miller secured more than 75 percent of the vote in 2018.
    • Polling in preparation for the 2018 elections indicated that more than two-thirds (68 percent) of Iowans believe AG Miller puts Iowa first and does what he thinks is best for Iowa.


Our democracy can't wait.

Help support our initiatives to elect more Democratic AGs.

Donate Now